South Jersey Belle

It's all about the attitude.

Cow Run 10 Miler and Weekend Workouts

Leave a comment

What a weekend! First off I can’t believe it is already October! As I said goodbye to September-Friday I was able to take part in an open water swim (OWS) at Mountain Lake. The water was absolutely beautiful and so warm. We did wear our sleeveless wetsuits, but the water temp was probably close to 70 degrees. This was defiantly one of the nicest lake swims I have ever done!

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Saturday morning included a chilly 26 mile bike ride in Harriman State Park. Nothing like a few hills to wake you up and what happened to the warm weather?!

Sunday I took part in the Cow Run 10 miler. I did this run last year and it is really great so why not run it again. It’s a point to point race. School buses take you to the starting point, Cow Town Rodeo. In the very beginning of the race you actually run through the field where the cows are. Some cows actually cross the running path this just may be the key to put a little pep in your step. 

The morning was pretty chilly around 50 degrees, but the sun did come out and warm up to about 70. Joining me in this race was Nigel and my Mom. Nigel placed 2nd in his age group finishing in a speedy- 1:12:34 and my Mom placed first in her age group finishing at 1:33:25. I placed 5th in my age group at 1:23:21.

img_2419

My goal for this run was to keep my pace steady and try to speed up at the end. I am happy to report that I held my 8:30 pace and got my last mile down to 8:06. I felt pretty comfortable during the race. There were some rolling hills within the first three miles of the run with the maximum elevation being 74 feet to climb. Out of the 222 runners I was the 13th female.

Overall great day for a race to welcome in October! Now to enjoy the weather before it gets to cold! I’ve got lots more training to do in preparation for my first ultra!!!!

Got to get moooooo-ving!! (I know bad cow joke, but I couldn’t help myself!)

xo

Leann

 

Author: South Jersey Belle

Looking for positivity. Eating local. Shopping. Travel. Swim. Bike. Run.

Leave a Reply

