South Jersey Belle

It's all about the attitude.

Training and Racing-Global Energy 10k Race Report

Leave a comment

I’ve been MIA from the blog lately. I know. Such a slacker! But surprisingly, I haven’t been slacking at all. Even though the race season is winding down I’ve still got a few smaller runs planned and one big run coming up-my very first ultra (anything over 26.2 counts as an ultra)! But that doesn’t mean stop biking or swimming all together. I’ve been picking up some tips for training from 2x ironman and 4x half ironman-Nigel. He’s definitely been encouraging to push past what I think are my own personal boundaries and challenge myself to push harder with the proper training and nutrition plans.

5f067e65-c89d-4977-9b6c-97c0bcf79dc0

Just yesterday I ran the Global Energy 10k race in Philadelphia. The really cool thing about this race was it was happening in 38 cities spanning across 21 countries. The race was in support of leading healthier lifestyles and food was being donated to food banks in every host city where a race was being held.

img_2151

The race started at 7:30 am and of course I had to have my normal coffee, multigrain english muffin with peanut butter and banana. I’ve learned to become a morning person.   With the race practically being in my backyard I was waiting till last minute today to leave my house. My Mom and I were both running the 10k. The weather conditions were perfect, warm, but not to hot out yet! The course was just along the Delaware River, flat and fast.

img_2206

I am happy to report that this was the very first time we BOTH received FIRST place in our respective age groups on the same day! The only frustrating thing that occurred was at the end of the race when I went to check my race time at the results tent it showed I was registered for the 5k, and this seemed to be a common error, I wasn’t the only one that had this issue. My mom, the next person in line behind and so fourth. After the time tracking company made a few adjustments my placing appeared!

Bam! First place AG and 7th female, I will take it! Great race for a great cause. My mom and I celebrated our success by having a delicious breakfast at Green Eggs Cafe. What’s next? Cow Run 10 miler next weekend with my mom and Nigel!

More training and travel details to follow!

xo

Leann

Author: South Jersey Belle

Looking for positivity. Eating local. Shopping. Travel. Swim. Bike. Run.

Leave a Reply

