South Jersey Belle

It's all about the attitude.

Run the Vineyards 15k

Leave a comment

My first trail race is officially in the books. When I signed up for this race I read it as a on and off road race. So in my mind I imagine it to be split-half the race on the road and the other half trail. Never assume! You know how the saying goes… just under a 5k portion of the race was on the road. The rest of the race took you directly through the vineyard- zigging and zagging through rows of grapes. If that wasn’t bad enough the dirt and sand farm roads were not even or compact. To say the least this race was a bit of a challenge. The grass between the vines was thick and uneven. And please don’t take my description as complaining I’m always up for a challenge and pushing myself to the next level.

img_1656img_1730
This trail race did challenge me as I usually train on the road or a treadmill depending on my location. I’ve never trained to run a trail, but maybe this is just what I needed to encourage myself to train a little bit harder. The weather overall was pleasant. A bit chilly to start, but it warmed up nicely. I ran out of my favorite pre race fuel- power bar simple fruit energy gels and resorted to trying a different gel from power bar. It got the job done, but the taste just could not compare. I just wanted to get it down as quickly as possible.

img_1660
The 5k race started about 5 minutes prior to the 15k. The race was clearly marked and roped off to determine which turn was for the 5k versus the 15k. I found a comfortable pace at 8:30 min/mile and tried to constantly stay there. I refueled during the race with some honey stinger energy chews around mile 5 and I was carrying my own water in my Nathan handheld running bottle. By mile 7 I was ready to be done running up and down the rows of grapes. Though the scenery was beautiful and a change from my normal city run I had to put my mind else where. I gave myself a short pep talk to finish strong and that’s exactly what I did.

img_1680
I finished 7th in my age group (30-39) out of 71 women. 17th out of 184 women and 32nd overall out of 229 runners. Not too shabby, but this is definitely fueling myself to train harder. Running this trail race put me a little outside of my normal running comfort zone, but I embraced every second.
Next up is the Global Energy Race 10k in Philadelphia. Catch me if you can!
Xo

Leann

Author: South Jersey Belle

Looking for positivity. Eating local. Shopping. Travel. Swim. Bike. Run.

Leave a Reply

