South Jersey Belle

It's all about the attitude.

Chicago-Chi Town-Windy City

1 Comment

Another day another flight to a different destination. This morning I left bright and early from PHL (Philly) headed to ORD (Chicago). I’ve been here before, but every time I visit it seems to be a different season with different things to experience in the city. The hotel we stay at isn’t far from the shoreline of Lake Michigan. The last time I stayed in Chicago the cubs won the World Series!


With my triathlon this weekend I decided today would be a great day to get a run in and do some carbo loading! Chicago has tons of great running and biking paths through all of the city’s parks. I ran down the shore line to the end of Navy Pier to start, then to the Field Museum, through Grant Park, to Buckingham Fountain, and ended at the Bean in Millennium Park.


From there I was starving, hot, and sweaty. I realized I needed to eat and hydrate!! Be careful out there people, the heat is no joke! Being in Chi Town, I seized the opportunity to have freshly made pierogi. For those who do not know what a pierogi is, the best way to explain it as the polish version of a ravioli or dumpling. They have different fillings varying from meat to sauerkraut to potato and cheese. They are boiled, served with fried onion and sour cream. And if you can get them freshly made not out of the freezer aisle I suggest you eat as many as you can!



I found a place called Pierogi Heaven. I opted for 3 sauerkraut and mushroom and 3 potato and cheese with a cup of broscht soup (a beet based soup).  And for dessert I took some fruit filled Pierogi with me!!!! Amazing!!!!!! I fully suggest you give this place a try if you are in the Windy City.


Chicago is a beautiful city with so much to offer every individual no matter what you are looking for. The shoreline of Lake Michigan is stunning. This is just a peak of what I was able to squeeze in today, but there’s so much more to see and do. Don’t forget the deep dish pizza or watching a game a Wrigley Field!


Until next time safe travels!

Xo

Leann

Author: South Jersey Belle

Looking for positivity. Eating local. Shopping. Travel. Swim. Bike. Run.

One thought on “Chicago-Chi Town-Windy City

  1. Looks beautiful and I want that Polish food!!!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

