South Jersey Belle

It's all about the attitude.

Body Image, Athletics, & Society 

2 Comments

This post is something I have been thinking about writing for some time now. As a female and one that works out almost religiously body image is something I consistently think about. In a world where people are quick to pass judgement on someone without knowing them I’m sure everyone has encountered a rude comment or two in their day. But this rant isn’t to change your thoughts or even force you to go to the gym, just take my two cents and be a little more considerate on a daily basis.

I love to workout, but that doesn’t mean I have the perfect body. I eat pizza and ice cream and indulge in the adult beverage more than I should. But I have JUST started to really become comfortable in my own skin in the past few years. I must say working out has given me new appreciation for what my body can actually do and how I can quiet my mind to push limits when I am tired or want to give up. Those that have abs of steal, good for you, but I don’t want to give up eating french fries or pizza. That’s a true sense of mental power and I applaud you.

Another thought, making comments that someone is “skinny” or “fat” can really be hurtful. At the end of the day we have to make our own decisions on what to eat and how we take care of our bodies. We don’t know every individuals issues or even medical history. In the years of running I can see that my body has changed, muscles have formed where there once were none, and I still have “flabby” parts. I’m on a constant path of challenge and yet I now appreciate it as self discovery.

img_8013

Photo- Jared C. Wood Photography

This article was sparked by two things-training for my first triathlon and the recent collection of pictures I have had to take for several other posts ranging in the Courier Post newspaper article, Rabbit running team, Mojo Racing, and even this blog. Training for my first tri has really changed my mindset on how to approach things in life and by adding in the discipline of swimming, like biking and running wasn’t enough. I have seen some positive body changes. Training for a triathlon (and I’m only training for a sprint) takes a lot of time and dedication. I have learned that it takes so much planning for workouts and the people that are supportive with my decision to train will be there for me even if they don’t understand why I would want to spend half my day training and go to bed at 9pm. Training has changed my views of how much I can drink and perform the next day (bummer, lol). Then comes the photos. It all started with theCourier Post taking photos of my Mother and I for an article, which appeared on the front page of the newspaper. Then joining the two racing teams- Rabbit and Mojo which needed photos for bios. My only hope is that my story and my photos show that I am a happy and positive person.

My journey is one that I will continue on to be an overall better person. Please know and understand that finding peace within yourself and body image does not come over night. Sometimes I struggle with it still. Some days of course nothing fits right. It will always be one day at a time, just stay focused on your own individual goal and don’t let anyone stop you.

Choose happiness.

 

xo

Leann

Author: South Jersey Belle

Looking for positivity. Eating local. Shopping. Travel. Swim. Bike. Run.

2 thoughts on “Body Image, Athletics, & Society 

  1. Smoke

    Like

  2. Words of wisdom!

    Like

Leave a Reply

