South Jersey Belle

It's all about the attitude.

When the Tough Gets Going…

1 Comment

I start cooking. When I’m frustrated like the other day I tend to either workout, cook, or both. I happened to try out 3 recipes from the book Eat Slow Run Fast. img_6009This book full of recipes focusing on eating healthy and properly fueling for an active lifestyle specifically running. The two women that wrote this book focus on eating organic, natural, whole, healthy, and less processed foods. They do explain that yes this does tend to cost more, but leads your body to feeling better. Sometimes we need to slow down our busy lifestyles and cook good wholesome meals. These meals, snacks, and sauces can also be prepped for future meals and reheated later. Thus far I can highly recommend this book!

 

The first recipe I tried out was the whole fruit juice drink- Grapefruit Carrot Berry. I have a vitamix, but I’m sure any full powered blender or juicer may do the job. The juice was very refreshing and filling. The drink contains coconut water, ginger, carrots, grapefruit, and a handful of berries (your choice of strawberries or blueberries).


Next was the superhero muffins, suggested as morning fuel on the go or something great to snack on during a long run. This muffin is delicious, but it seriously has a ton of ingredients. Just to ramble off a few-zucchini, carrot, almond flour, oats, rasins, walnuts, and it’s held together with maple syrup, eggs, and butter! They cooked up beautifully. I put half the batch in the freezer to have later in the month.


Lastly was the simple marinara! I’m half Italian and I don’t make my own sauce. What a shame right! I make a lot of different Italian dishes but I’ve never really attempted sauce or as some call it gravy! Finally this recipe seemed simple enough for even me to try and led me to be pleasantly surprised.

Here’s the recipe:

3 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
2 large carrots, peeled and finely chopped
1 large yellow onion, finely chopped
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 teaspoon fine sea salt
2 cans (28 ounces each) whole or diced tomatoes
1 tablespoon minced fresh oregano or 2 teaspoons dried
1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
1/4 to 1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes (optional, if you like spice)
Handful of fresh basil leaves, chopped (optional)

Heat the oil in a large saucepan over medium heat. Add the carrots, onion, garlic, and salt and cook, stirring frequently, until the onions are soft but not brown, about 8 minutes.

Add the tomatoes (along with their juices), oregano, black pepper, and pepper flakes (if using). If the tomatoes are whole, break them up into small pieces with a wooden spoon. Bring to a simmer and cook uncovered, until the sauce thickens, stirring occasionally, at least 30 minutes or up to 1 hour 30 minutes for a thicker, richer sauce.

Leave the sauce chunky or blend with an immersion (stick) blender until smooth. Taste and add more salt and pepper, if needed. Just before serving, stir in the basil (if using)

I do tend to like a spicier Fra Divalo type sauce so I did add the red pepper flakes and it gave it nice kick. I used diced tomatoes and the sauce does come out on the chunkier side  so depending on what type of pasta you are using I would use an immersion stick to thin it out some.

Buon appetito! Enjoy!

xo

Leann

 

Author: South Jersey Belle

Looking for positivity. Eating local. Shopping. Travel. Swim. Bike. Run.

One thought on “When the Tough Gets Going…

  1. I raiding ur freezer!

    Like

Leave a Reply

