South Jersey Belle

It's all about the attitude.

Always Wear Your Helmet

Leave a comment

This weekend I took part in the Ocean to Bay Bike Ride in Bethany Beach/Fenwick Island, Delaware. With several routes a century (100 miles), metric centric (62.5 miles), 50 miles, 36 miles or 27 miles I originally planned on completing the metric century. I was just recently cleared to ride the bike, but the Doctor didn’t really know the distance I was looking to cover. I haven’t been on the bike since my injury and I knew it was going to be tough. Especially because I clip in and getting out would prove some difficulty for my left foot.  Out of the 62 miles I was able to cover 40. Acceptable. I’m pretty tough on myself when it comes to giving up or in, but I knew if I kept pushing I could set my recovery back further.

The main reason I decided to name this post, Always Wear Your Helmet, today during the ride, which covered some pretty rural roads, a man taking part in the ride was sitting in the middle of the rode bleeding from his head. Thank goodness he had his helmet on, which was severely broken, but it helped to protect him to give him minimal damage. I’ve seen several incidents in the city where a car just clips the back tire of a rider and it causes major accidents. I know wearing a helmet doesn’t look that cool, but it can defiantly save your life. Scrambled brain on the pavement or minor injuries? And just in case you didn’t know the law requires a minimum of 3 feet between a cyclist and passing car (in some cases I know this is impossible).


Safety is always very important when taking to the roads whether it being running or riding your bike. Overall, the ride was nice and the weather was perfect. We couldn’t ask for much better riding conditions, only for my foot to cooperate more and heal faster. I will be back to running as soon as I can!

See you on the road.

xo

Leann

Author: South Jersey Belle

Looking for positivity. Eating local. Shopping. Travel. Swim. Bike. Run.

Leave a Reply

