South Jersey Belle

It's all about the attitude.

R.I.C.E

Leave a comment

No not the rice you eat!

R-rest

I-ice

C-compression

E-elevate

Well I’m on a layover in warm Sin City and I decided I would wake up and go for a run to Fremont Street and then back for breakfast. I was going to write a blog post about intermittent fasting! Then on my walk to get breakfast I rolled my ankle!!!!! Basically any runner’s worst nightmare. I started thinking to myself no that did not just happen. NO! NOOOOOOOOOO! Ok. Calm down Leann, walk it out. Take a breather.

So I get to the Peppermill for breakfast.img_4663 I propped my leg up on the seat to elevate my ankle. When it’s time to leave the pain sets in. I start to panic and reality sets in. I limp to the closest Walgreens for pain reliever and a banadage. 90% sure it’s a sprain and let’s not hope for anything more. So this is where R.I.C.E comes in.

While I am now sitting, I’ve elevated my leg. Icing it for 15 minute increments every hour. Later I will wrap it with a bandage to compress it as I actually have to work the red eye flight from Vegas to Philly tonight. And I’m trying to keep off it as much as possible.


This is extremely frustrating. Let’s hope and pray I can get back to running as quickly as possible if I follow this approach.
Here’s to R.I.C.E!

Xo

Leann

Author: South Jersey Belle

Looking for positivity. Eating local. Shopping. Travel. Swim. Bike. Run.

Leave a Reply

