South Jersey Belle

It's all about the attitude.

Jet Lag is for Amateurs, but Fatigue is the Real Deal!

Leave a comment

Yesterday I finished my 4 day trip. It wasn’t so bad! I worked with great crews and the crazies were to a minimum (I’m talking about passengers). I had overnights in Las Vegas, Dallas, and Boston. I arrived back in Philadelphia around 9am-Thursday morning. Wonderful, I have the whole day I thought, I can run errands, do laundry, go to the gym, and get myself organized for the weekend (because you know I’m always on the go). Well after getting to my car I was struggling. So tired. Need more coffee. But I already had my normal one cup I usually limit myself to. There was literally and physically no way I was going to stay away without another cup of caffeine.

I stopped at good ol’ Dunkin Donuts before heading to get some groceries. Ok, my second wind kicked in. Grabbed what I needed at the store and headed home. Plan of action, get the laundry started, take a shower and head to the gym. I never even made it to the gym! I did get (most) of my laundry done. After taking that shower I had a pep talk with myself, ok maybe you just need a quick little power nap. I NEVER nap! I had just travelled across the country and back in a span of four days and the time changes and long days literally were kicking my butt.

Fatigue is defined as weariness or exhaustion from labor, exertion, or stress. Jet lag, on the other hand I can deal with pretty well. Monday I wrote I only had a few hours of sleep, but when I got to Vegas I felt ok. I drank plenty of water, took my vitamins, and tried to eat “normal healthy” meals. Every morning I had van pick ups of 5:30 am so that meant getting up super early to be ready, packed, and downstairs. 3 of my 4 flight days were pretty long. 12 hour duty days are tough. Interacting with maybe 600 or more passengers a day.  17 hours of being awake is the equivalent to a blood alcohol level of 0.05%.  Your IQ is lower and you are easily distracted, both of which are not helpful when working as a flight attendant, as alertness and focus are crucial, especially in the case of an emergency.

As disappointed as I was yesterday that I could not get myself motivated to go to the gym I knew my body was telling my to chill out, which I rarely listen to. As I fully try to recover from this sinus infection it was best that I just try to relax and get back on my normal routine. I’ve got a long run planned for this weekend as the weather is supposed to be beautiful in Philly and pretty sure I have to work at my part time job, while finishing the rough draft of the dissertation chapters. LOL.

Motivational-Typography-Picture-Quote-Awesome

xo

Leann

Author: South Jersey Belle

Looking for positivity. Eating local. Shopping. Travel. Swim. Bike. Run.

Leave a Reply

