South Jersey Belle

It's all about the attitude.

Doctoral Student & Flight Attendant

1 Comment

As if I didn’t have enough on my plate between working two jobs and training for races and taking on a triathlon, I’m working on my dissertation. During my four day trip I’ve talked to some coworkers that are impressed with my dedication, but I have to say I don’t feel impressive, I’m doing this for myself, for my future, and because I love a challenge. The photo above is the process I am going through except I haven’t gotten to the printing part (YET)! Many of my friends and family members know I am going to school, but they don’t know what exactly for. So I figured I would share some of the (what I think is exciting) knowledge and research I have been doing. My doctorate is in business administration and my focus is marketing.

Here’s some information on my concept that will be included in chapter 1.

“Each generation wants new names, new symbols, new cycles. They want to divorce themselves from their predecessors,” exclaimed Jim Morrison lead singer of The Doors (Davis, 2004). Generation Y is more individualistic than past generations and comfortable in a global environment with non-traditional ideals (Testani, 2012). Generation Y’s population has the ability to transform life stages for future generations to come (Testani). The need to understand generation Y’s culture, characteristics, and trends hold precedence in understanding why companies are closing and jobs are disappearing.

Generation Y includes any United States citizen born in between 1980 and 1994, aged between 35 to 21 years old (Lazarevic, 2012). Generation Y currently spends between 153-155 billion US dollars a year (Lazarevic). Generation Y is the largest population in the United States and has experienced the boom of technology, the economic recession, and will continue to shape the economy for the future (Advisors, 2014).  Generation Y is categorized as controlling, technologically savvy, and environmentally conscious (Gurau, 2012).  Generation Y is more educated than any other generation to date (Advisors).

Marketers need to create brand loyalty within the generation Y population, as this population is currently disloyal to brands (Lazarevic).  Businesses benefit on customer loyalty, which can be described as repeated purchase and referring other customers to a company (Gurau). Marketing strategies that have been used on prior generations including pre-depression, depression, and the baby boomers do not appeal to the unique needs and behaviors of generation Y (William & Page). Generation Y looks for more subtle messages, language that gives visual pictures, and ad placement on and offline in appropriate media outlets (William & Page). Businesses are failing because of lack of proper research on a product/service or incompetence to reach generation Y (Schneider & Hall, 2011). The specific problem is that generation Y is not brand loyal, which is forcing marketing agencies to spend more money for products/services than past years causing company closures and the loss of jobs. (Testani).img_3516

Going through the process of researching, reading, writing, repeat, seems almost never ending. Revisions are made almost constantly. I am in my last week of my  qualitative research class that has helped me to continually  develop my dissertation method, design, and research questions. Just to give some background on what I have been working on in the past 8 weeks-

Chapter 1 includes:

  • Introduction
  • Background
  • Problem Statement
  • Purpose of the Study
  • Population and Sample
  • Significance of the Study
  • Nature of the Study
  • Research Questions
  • Conceptual Framework
  • Terms
  • Scope and Delimitations
  • Assumptions and Limitations

Chapter 2 includes:

  • Literature Review
    • Historical/Current content
    • Conceptual Framework Literature
    • Methodology
    • Research Design Literature

img_3517

Typing out a list of what is included in those two chapters doesn’t seem that much, but I must warn you chapter 2 alone, when done will be close to 50 pages. Being this far in the process I have come to the realization its all about determination. No one else can do this for me, as much as I wish it was possible sometimes. It’s not always fun. I have to give up being social with friends and family sometimes to stay in and write, but in the end I know it will all be worth it.

Time to get sh*t done!

xo

Leann

 

 

Author: South Jersey Belle

Looking for positivity. Eating local. Shopping. Travel. Swim. Bike. Run.

One thought on “Doctoral Student & Flight Attendant

  1. Drink some good coffe and keep going! You will do it and do it well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

