South Jersey Belle

It's all about the attitude.

First I eat, then I do everything else

Leave a comment

January has finally passed and its February 1st! Has your new year resolutions stuck? Was January a trial and error of what the rest of the year would possibly look like? Every year I set new fitness goals for myself and compete with what I have accomplished in prior years. January brought on a new challenge of adding swimming into my gym routine. Well my biggest personal challenge is changing my eating habits. The more I work out the more I want to eat!

Choosing the right foods to fuel your body is so important. Trust me, I defiantly indulge in my fair share of drinks and rich foods. With a new training plan for my races coming up this spring, summer, and fall its time to get back on track to eating healthy.

8e6c96194ecd2150c3f8aff3079ab589

Prepping meals and having meals planned out for the week are huge help. When I’m on the go its easy to come home to a house with frozen chicken and decide not to cook it because ordering a pizza is just easier. Recently my friend Roi and I have started sharing some ideas for meals and holding each other accountable for eating right and getting up earlier to focus on our fitness. Thank goodness for the buddy system!!!

Just this morning we tried making protein pancakes. They are much thiner than your normal pancake, but they cooked up great. Here’s the recipe I used:

  • 1 scoop of vanilla protein powder
  • 3/4 cup of egg whites
  • 1/4 cup of peanut butter
  • 2 tablespoons of unsweetened almond milk

Combine and blend until smooth. Cook over medium/low heat. I added a little peanut butter on top with the syrup!

img_0205

Having a solid and healthy meal is important to start your day off right. I’m completely miserable if I don’t eat breakfast. It doesn’t matter if its just a greek yogurt or scrambled eggs and turkey bacon, make sure you fuel yourself to have a positive start to your day. If you are thinking of skipping a meal because you are too busy or can’t fit in your workout, think again. Skipping a meal has adverse effects. So go ahead and get your eat on!

xo

Leann

Author: South Jersey Belle

Looking for positivity. Eating local. Shopping. Travel. Swim. Bike. Run.

Leave a Reply

